Nationwide Services 1.877.877.7911
Sell your less than perfect car to a top rated car buyer.

Cash for Cars in NJ

Hey New Jersey, what do you do when you have a damaged car? Or, a wrecked car? Or, a junk car? What do you do when you’re thinking to yourself “I need to sell my car fast”? With potholes everywhere, icy winters, New Yorkers escaping the city for the weekend in rental cars, pedestrians, traffic on 95 and other drivers, New Jersey can be hard on a vehicle. It doesn’t matter if you’ve been in an accident, have wrecked car, blown motor, slipping transmission, or just have a car nearing the end of its days, DamagedCars.com can help. We buy junk cars, NJ so you can sell junk car for cash (well, actually you get a check).

Click the button below to get a guaranteed offer for your car. The process is fast and easy. We’ll pick up your car for free and pay you on the spot. Get cash for Cars, NJ.


CLICK TO GET AN OFFER

It doesn’t matter if you’re in Princeton, Mahwah, Hoboken, Weehawken, Morristown, Cherry Hill, Camden, Edison or Chester, DamagedCars.com will buy your damaged, salvage or broken-down car, fast. Click the button below to get a guaranteed offer for your car.

We’ll even work with you on what to do after a car accident to get you the best offer for your car. Because repair isn’t always the best option, sell your car to DamagedCars.com where we buy cars in less-than-perfect condition in the Garden State.

New Jersey Procedure for Transferring Vehicle Ownership

The most important part of selling a car, apart from getting paid, is transferring ownership. To do so in New Jersey, you need to visit any New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission office. To make sure you transfer the documents properly and avoid penalties, here are the steps to follow for a personal vehicle.

If you sold the vehicle, you, as the seller, must:

  • Remove the plates and give them back to any MVC Office, unless the plates are being transferred to another vehicle that you own.
  • Sign the back of the title and give it to the buyer, with:
    • Buyer's name and address
    • Date of sale
    • Odometer reading
    • Car’s Sale price
  • To avoid a $25 penalty, the title must be transferred within 10 business days from the date of sale.

If you bought the vehicle, you, as the buyer, must:

  • Sign the back of the title and add your driver license number.
  • Visit an MVC Office to transfer title, complete the registration and get your license plates:
    • What to bring to the MVC Office to title and register a vehicle that was purchased through various methods.
      • To Title and Register a used vehicle bought in New Jersey, you need to bring:
        • § The title properly filled out.
        • § A registration application (BA-49) from an MVC Office.
        • § A power of attorney (POA) if someone other than the buyer is signing the documents on behalf of the buyer.
        • § Buyer’s driver's license.
        • § Proof of New Jersey car insurance.
        • § Form of Payment (Credit Card, Check, Money Order or Cash)
          • $60 for a standard vehicle.
          • $85 for a vehicle with one lien.
          • $110 for a vehicle with two liens.
        • § Sales tax (Call 609-984-6206 for help calculating sales tax).
        • § Registration fee
        • § If needed, Lien holder’s information and payoff statement (Form: OS/SS-85c Financing Statement).
        • § If the buyer is a company, a corporation code and a Federal Tax ID number (EIN) (www.state.nj.us/mvcbiz/pdf/Vehicles/BA-8.pdf).
      • To Title and Register a used vehicle that was bought in another state that issues titles, you need to bring:
        • § The title properly filled out.
        • § A registration application (BA-49) from an MVC Office.
        • § A power of attorney (POA) if someone other than the buyer is signing the documents on behalf of the buyer.
        • § Buyer’s driver's license.
        • § Proof of New Jersey car insurance.
        • § If needed, dealer reassignment documents.
        • § A Purchase order if there isn’t a New Jersey Dealer Tax Stamp on the title.
        • § Certificate of Ownership (form SS-7)
        • § Form of Payment (Credit Card, Check, Money Order or Cash)
          • $60 for a standard vehicle.
          • $85 for a vehicle with one lien.
          • $110 for a vehicle with two liens.
        • § Sales tax (Call 609-984-6206 for help calculating sales tax).
        • § Registration fee
        • § If needed, Lien holder’s information and payoff statement (Form: OS/SS-85c Financing Statement).
        • § If the buyer is a company, a corporation code and a Federal Tax ID number (EIN) (www.state.nj.us/mvcbiz/pdf/Vehicles/BA-8.pdf).
      • To Title and Register a used vehicle that was bought in a state that doesn’t issue titles, you need to bring:
        • § A pencil tracing or printed photo of the vehicle identification number (VIN). Click here for help finding your VIN.
        • § A registration application (BA-49) from an MVC Office.
        • § A power of attorney (POA) if someone other than the buyer is signing the documents on behalf of the buyer.
        • § Buyer’s driver's license.
        • § Proof of New Jersey car insurance.
        • § A notarized statement from the seller that includes everything below:
          • Year manufactured
          • Make
          • VIN
          • Purchase Price
        • § The latest registration document showing that the vehicle was registered and owned by the seller in the state of sale.
        • § Certificate of Ownership (form SS-7).
        • § Form of Payment (Credit Card, Check, Money Order or Cash)
          • $60 for a standard vehicle.
          • $85 for a vehicle with one lien.
          • $110 for a vehicle with two liens.
        • § Sales tax (Call 609-984-6206 for help calculating sales tax).
        • § Registration fee
        • § If needed, Lien holder’s information and payoff statement (Form: OS/SS-85c Financing Statement).
        • § If the buyer is a company, a corporation code and a Federal Tax ID number (EIN) (www.state.nj.us/mvcbiz/pdf/Vehicles/BA-8.pdf).
      • To Title and Register a vehicle that was Pre-Owned and purchased at an auction, you need:
        • § The current title with a sales tax stamp, if the sales tax has been paid.
        • § If the car doesn’t have a title, bring the last previously issued registration document and bill of sale.
        • § A power of attorney (POA) issued to the auction from the dealer
        • § Dealer reassignment documents, if applicable.
        • § Purchase order
        • § A registration application (BA-49) from an MVC Office.
        • § If needed, additional power of attorney (POA) if someone other than the buyer is signing the documents on behalf of the buyer.
        • § Buyer’s driver's license.
        • § Proof of New Jersey car insurance.
        • § Certificate of Ownership (form SS-7).
        • § Form of Payment (Credit Card, Check, Money Order or Cash)
          • $60 for a standard vehicle.
          • $85 for a vehicle with one lien.
          • $110 for a vehicle with two liens.
        • § Sales tax (Call 609-984-6206 for help calculating sales tax).
        • § Registration fee
        • § If needed, Lien holder’s information and payoff statement (Form: OS/SS-85c Financing Statement).
        • § If the buyer is a company, a corporation code and a Federal Tax ID number (EIN) (www.state.nj.us/mvcbiz/pdf/Vehicles/BA-8.pdf).
        • § If the buyer is a company or business a corporation (corp) code and a Federal Tax ID number (EIN#) are needed; www.state.nj.us/mvcbiz/pdf/Vehicles/BA-8.pdf.
  • To avoid a $25 penalty, all titles must be transferred within 10 working days from the date of sale

Odometer reading

You must provide an accurate odometer reading at the time of sale to show whether it has passed its mechanical limitations and is on a second or third cycle. If the actual odometer reading is inaccurate, the seller must give an estimate of what the actual reading should be.

New Jersey Title Transfer Procedure:

Every state has unique requirements for transferring a title. New Jersey is no exception. When transferring a title, accuracy is essential. New Jersey titles require the seller to sign the back of the title on the left side in the section marked “SELLER’S SIGNATURE”.

Anyone listed as “Owner” on the front of the title must sign as “Seller” using the same name shown on the title. Only the “Owner” can sell a vehicle, and the state of New Jersey requires a title for the sale of any car, truck or SUV. So, if you don’t have the title, before you sell your car, you need to make your way to the nearest New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission office for a duplicate title.

New Jersey Emissions and Smog Laws:

After buying a car in New Jersey, you’ll need to register the car. That will likely require getting your car emissions tested if your car was made after 1995. It’s good to know what that re quires. Thankfully, we’re here to help.

Its multiple urban centers and the volume of commuter and visitor traffic statewide can make emissions control imperative for the Garden State. Cars registered in the state must be inspected and undergo an emissions test every other year, with a few listed exceptions. Cars that were manufactured prior to 1995 are generally exempt from this requirement.

Want to sell your car in New Jersey?

Our team of professional and courteous buyers will work with you to sell your car, fast. We buy cars throughout the United States. We will pick up your car for free and pay you on the spot. At DamagedCars.com, we buy cars in less-than-perfect condition, nationwide.



Cash for Cars Offers & Cars Sold in New Jersey:

Year: 2008
Make: Nissan
Model: Sentra
City: Clinton
State: New Jersey
Zip Code: 08809
Mileage: 160,000
Trim:
Cash Offer/Worth: $500.00

Year: 2004
Make: Lincoln
Model: Navigator
City: Irvington
State: New Jersey
Zip Code: 07111
Mileage: 158,000
Trim: Premium
Cash Offer/Worth: $550.00

Year: 2006
Make: Hummer
Model: H2 SUT
City: West milford
State: New Jersey
Zip Code: 07480
Mileage: 190,000
Trim: Base
Cash Offer/Worth: $5,500.00

Year: 2008
Make: Ford
Model: Edge
City: New providence
State: New Jersey
Zip Code: 07974
Mileage: 130,000
Trim: SEL
Cash Offer/Worth: $1,200.00

Year: 2002
Make: Lexus
Model: RX 300
City: Ventnor
State: New Jersey
Zip Code: 08406
Mileage: 95,000
Trim: Base
Cash Offer/Worth: $1,250.00

Year: 2006
Make: BMW
Model: 7 series
City: Irvington
State: New Jersey
Zip Code: 07111
Mileage: 209,000
Trim: 750Li
Cash Offer/Worth: $1,575.00

Year: 2011
Make: Honda
Model: Odyssey
City: Riverton
State: New Jersey
Zip Code: 08077
Mileage: 120,000
Trim: EX-L
Cash Offer/Worth: $3,450.00

Year: 2011
Make: Subaru
Model: Impreza
City: Wanaque
State: New Jersey
Zip Code: 07465
Mileage: 56,000
Trim: WRX-S
Cash Offer/Worth: $6,400.00

Year: 2005
Make: Toyota
Model: 4Runner
City: Warren
State: New Jersey
Zip Code: 07059
Mileage: 190,406
Trim: Limited
Cash Offer/Worth: $1,100.00

Year: 2006
Make: Toyota
Model: Sienna
City: Morganville
State: New Jersey
Zip Code: 07751
Mileage: 160,000
Trim: LE
Cash Offer/Worth: $700.00

Year: 2012
Make: Honda
Model: Civic
City: Hackensack
State: New Jersey
Zip Code: 07601
Mileage: 34,000
Trim: LX
Cash Offer/Worth: $2,000.00

Year: 2007
Make: Ford
Model: Econoline
City: Landing
State: New Jersey
Zip Code: 07850
Mileage: 235,000
Trim: Base
Cash Offer/Worth: $500.00

Year: 2008
Make: Nissan
Model: Altima
City: Rockaway
State: New Jersey
Zip Code: 07866
Mileage: 160,000
Trim:
Cash Offer/Worth: $800.00

Year: 2008
Make: Nissan
Model: Versa
City: Burlington
State: New Jersey
Zip Code: 08016
Mileage: 149,000
Trim: SL
Cash Offer/Worth: $550.00

Year: 2007
Make: Honda
Model: Civic
City: Little egg harbor twp
State: New Jersey
Zip Code: 08087
Mileage: 137,000
Trim: EX
Cash Offer/Worth: $850.00

Year: 2001
Make: Toyota
Model: Highlander
City: Voorhees
State: New Jersey
Zip Code: 08043
Mileage: 200,000
Trim: Base
Cash Offer/Worth: $1,125.00

Year: 2013
Make: Nissan
Model: Frontier
City: Plainfield
State: New Jersey
Zip Code: 07060
Mileage: 35,000
Trim: SL
Cash Offer/Worth: $5,000.00

Year: 2004
Make: Nissan
Model: Frontier
City: Flemington
State: New Jersey
Zip Code: 08822
Mileage: 296,000
Trim: XE
Cash Offer/Worth: $1,000.00

TESTIMONIALS & REVIEWS

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Auto Dealers - Used Cars in Miami FL

Frequently asked questions

How does DamagedCars.com decide the value or worth of my vehicle?

DamagedCars.com takes into account a variety of factors when making you an offer for your vehicle. For example, the wholesale value of your car pre-accident, the extent of damage or mechanical and electrical problems, the current market demand for your vehicle and its parts, its make, model, mileage and age all play a part of deciding the value of your vehicle.